24 hours without media (sort of)

Have you ever wondered what would happen if you tried to function as normal without interacting with any form of media? I tried it. It was impossible.

I participated in a 24-hour media fast last week as part of an experiment for my Principles of Media class. Here were the rules:

For 24 hours… do not engage with the media. No newspapers, books, television, radio, movies, magazines, computers. You can complete course assignments using essential media tools. Otherwise, fast!

I broke the media fast in relation to schoolwork and my on-campus jobs. I wouldn’t be able to do my jobs or complete my class assignments without email or the Internet. That showed me how dependent on media the first-world realms of education and work are.

I’m fine without social media. Sure, I scroll through Facebook and Instagram, but I didn’t feel like I was missing anything important by abstaining from social media all day.

However, I realized that I don’t normally go a day at college without using messaging apps to keep in touch with my friends and family. I was out of the loop with the people about whom I care the most. I missed out on the pictures and little messages that my family sends throughout the day. I wasn’t able to find out where my friends were unless I saw them. As part of a circle of friends with an active group chat, that was strange. I was glad that that lasted only for a day.

The media fast showed me that I use media mostly when I’m by myself. I put on music to fill the air while I’m working. I keep in touch with friends when we’re apart. I answer emails and read articles when no one else is around. I wonder how I’d be if I were to fast for more than 24 hours.

How do you think you’d do with a media fast?

4 Comments

    1. Thanks for the response, Therese! I think it’s interesting to to compare different people’s experiences. I don’t think people who have never owned a TV or computer would have to worry too much about how digital media affects them, but it would be interesting to see how other types of media do affect them.

      Like

      Reply

  1. I think it is great that you are fine without constantly checking social media. Without even realizing it, I find myself wasting way too much time on Instagram or Twitter, and it was obvious during my media fast, as i kept accidentally clicking on the apps.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I had a similar experience with my media fast, except it only lasted like 4 hours. So, I guess not that similar at all. I do like how you outlined the side-effects of going a day without it though.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

